Session 4/Self Help

I finally finished that other book. It is called “I Ain’t Much, Baby But I’m All I’ve Got” by: Jess Lair. It was really great, but I don’t know if I will be able to do all of the things it suggests. The writer is a physiatrist, and he thinks that making connections with people is as simple as being real, and sharing your experiences and feelings. I can’t do this shit! I can’t even talk to my friends about shit. I find it hard to even write things down for me alone.

I have to admit it would be nice to be able to talk to people about my stuff, but I don’t want to be the friend that only complainers about their life and I think that is what I would do. My life is not that bad. It is just a little challenging at times. I mean my husband loves me. I am going to college. I do have friends. I have a relatively secure life. I love my work, but I know I can’t do it forever. I have to be able to support us both and that’s why I am back in school.

I had to cancel my therapy appointment this week, but it wasn’t helping anyway. So I am going to take things into my own hands. I have been reading the books my family doctor suggested, and really thinking about what they may mean to me, and how these new perspectives could help me. Maybe I can read my way to not having anxiety attacks!  Maybe this sharing will be just what I need.  Maybe…I don’t know

Leave a Reply

